• Last Updated on May 11, 2022

UNESCO world heritage sites in Nepal

There are 10 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Nepal and two of them are natural world heritage, and the rest are cultural world heritage sites. Seven cultural world heritage sites are located in Kathmandu, and one of them is outside of Kathmandu Valley which is Lumbini.

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) has classified the Kathmandu Valley and Lumbini as cultural heritage sites, Sagarmatha National Park, and Chitwan National Park as natural world heritage sites.

All these 10 UNESCO world heritage sites are the major tourist attractions in Nepal, and thousands of people visit these sites every year. Find brief information about all these ten world heritage sites of Nepal.

Table of Contents

Kathmandu Durbar Square

Kathmandu Durbar Squire is one of the cultural heritage sites located in Kathmandu Valley. The Kathmandu Durbar Square is the core of old Kathmandu city in Basantapur.

Kal Bhairav in Kathmandu Square

The Kathmandu Durbar Square never fails to inspire first-time guests with its complicated wood carvings and rich history. So, most of the travellers who travel to Nepal also do not miss visiting this place, you can find visit Kathmandu Durbar Square on the Kathmandu Half Day tour & Kathmandu Full Day Tour.

Bhaktapur Durbar Square

The Bhaktapur Durbar Squire is another ancient royal palace of Nepal and one of the cultural UNESCO world heritage sites in Kathmandu valley.

Bhaktapur Durbar Square

The Bhaktapur Durbar Square is a piece of the ancient Newari city of Bhaktapur (Bhadgaon or Khwopa) and is best known for its attractions. A visit to Bhaktapur is included in the Bhaktapur-Patan Day tour, Kathmandu half-day tour, and Spirit of Nepal Tour.

Changu Narayan Temple

Changu Narayan temple is another UNESCO cultural heritage site in Kathmandu Valley. Changu Narayan temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu, which is well known as the preserver divine force of creation to Hindus.

The Changunarayan

Changu Narayan temple is considered to be one of the oldest temples with a history that dates back nearly 3000 years. It was built in the 4th century under the Lichhavi dynasty by King Mandev. Find a tour of Changunarayan temple in Nagarkot and Changunarayan tour.

Boudhanath Stupa

Boudhanath Stupa is located 8 km toward the east of downtown Kathmandu, and it is a standout among the most imposing milestones in Kathmandu.

The boudhanath stupa

A tour of Boudhanath is included in Kathmandu full-day tour and Kathmandu transit tour.

Pashupatinath Temple

Pashupatinath Temple is another cultural heritage site in Kathmandu Valley. The Pashupatinath Temple is one of the most sacred Hindu temples in Nepal devoted to Lord Shiva.

The pashupatinath temple

A visit to Pashupatinath temple is included on the Taste of Nepal and Kathmandu tour.

Patan Durbar Square

Patan Durbar Squire is another cultural heritage site in Kathmandu Valley. The Patan is one of the three towns of Kathmandu. The town is considered the oldest among all the three towns.

The Patan Durbar Square

Patan Durbar Square is known for its unique artistic heritage and is probably the oldest Buddhist city. You can take a half-day tour of Patan or a full-day tour of Patan and Bhaktapur to visit this place.

Swayambhunath Stupa

Swayambhunath Stupa is another cultural UNESCO heritage site in Kathmandu, and it is known as the Monkey temple as well.

Swayambhunath Stupa

Swayambhunath Stupa is one of the world's most great Buddhist Chaityas, which is said to be 2000 years of age. Find a visit to Swayambhunath stupa in Kathmandu day tour or take a half-day tour to visit it.

Lumbini – Birth place of Lord Buddha

Lumbini is a UNESCO cultural heritage site outside Kathmandu Valley. The Lumbini is one of the world's major religious, architectural, and historical sites.

The Mayadevi Temple in Lumbini

The Lumbini is a big area with monuments, temples, and ancient sites that is UNESCO World Heritage Site. Take a 3-day tour of Lumbini to visit this historical place.

Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha National Park is a UNESCO world natural heritage site in Nepal, and established in 1979 AD.

The Everest

The Sagarmatha National Park is the first national park of Nepal that has been named the UNESCO Natural World Heritage Site. There are many trekking programs in the park including the most famous Everest Base Camp Trek.

Chitwan National Park

The Chitwan National Park

Chitwan National Park is another UNESCO natural world heritage site in Nepal. The Chitwan National Park is also known as a paradise for nature lovers, and a utopia for those who love watching the animal. Take a short Jungle Safari tour in Chitwan to enjoy the park to fullest.


The information about the UNESCO Heritages is helpful to know something about Nepal, and inquiry us if you need further information about those sites and if you need any tour program to visit them.

Arjun Rijal

Arjun Rijal

Hello, Hi & Namaste from the Himalayas !!!

I am Arjun Rijal, Founder Director of the Outfitter Himalaya Holidays P. Ltd & working as a travel planner/consultant for Nepal, Bhutan, and Tibet Travel. I love hiking, trekking, and traveling.

I have been in most of the trekking regions in Nepal, that include Everest Base Camp, Annapurna Base camp, Annapurna Circuit, Manaslu, and Langtang. I also have travelled to Bhutan, India & planning further travel to many other countries in the world.

Find my writing on traveling, trekking, tours, travel news, and updates about the tourism activities of Nepal, Tibet & Bhutan.

You can also follow me on social media to receive regular news and updates.

Follow on: